‘Apprentice’ star, Claire Young, is guest of honour at saltash.net’s GCSE Presentation Evening

Posted by on Jan 6, 2014 in News | No Comments

saltash.net community school was delighted that one of the 2008 ‘Apprentice’ finalists – Claire Young – was able to accept its invitation to be the Guest Speaker at the annual GCSE Presentation Evening held on Thursday 5th December.  Claire had visited the school on two previous occasions to lead motivational Business and Enterprise workshops for Key Stage 4 students, some of whom were Award recipients at the presentation event.

‘We really wanted to make this particular occasion, extra special,’ said Mrs Bryce, headteacher.  ‘The Class of 2013 achieved an outstanding set of GCSE and Vocational pathway results last August.  Their work ethic was exemplary and we wanted as many people as possible to come along to the Awards Evening to help us celebrate the numerous successes of this terrific group of young people.’

In Claire Young’s address, she congratulated all the students stating that it was evident that they clearly wanted to be ‘the best that they could be.’  She shared with the audience details of her childhood and education, and the female role models who had inspired her:  her mum, and her secondary school headteacher.  She encouraged the young people present to aim high – ‘Have a wish list of things you want to have and achieve over the next ten years and go for it!’

Also contributing to the Presentation Evening were Chair of Governors, Kate Waghorn and Head of Year, Mark Feldwick.  Musical entertainment was provided by Year 12 student, Flo Bonner, and the Vote of Thanks was given by Year 12 representatives:  Alex Tucker and Laura Kelly.

After the presentation of the GCSE and Vocational certificates, the following individual awards were given:

John Griffin Memorial Shield:Alex Tucker
Academic Achievement (Female):Janie Olver
Academic Achievement (Male):Jonathan Lawther
Academic Highly Commended for consistent effort and achievement:Imogen BryceTimothy Dunstan
Jack FloydRebecca Fowell
Jennifer HalyNicole Higgins
Jessica IllingworthMadison Jarvis
Amy KyffinJayme Lingowski
Olivia LowdenNaomi Malcolm
Lauren McFarlaneClara Oldfield
Paul OlchowyKathryn Price
Lowenna RuleSarah Smart
Holly SullivanAlistair Tamblyn
Emily ToddAlex Tucker
Bethany WilsonJack Wray
Academic Endeavour (Female):Clara Oldfield
Academic Endeavour (Male):Robert Barrett
Academic Endeavour Highly Commended:Jessica Illingworth & Jayme Lingowski
Sporting Achievement (Female):Annis Willcocks
Sporting Achievement (Male):Rhys Griffiths
Sporting Achievement Highly Commended:Leah Parsons
Sporting Achievement Highly Commended:Aaron Fitze
Cornwall College Progress Award:Kayley Nathan
Subject Awards:
ArtRobert Barrett & Coran Giddy
Business StudiesPaul Olchowy & Chris Smith
CateringThomas Oatey
Child DevelopmentAmy Kyffin
DramaEmily Badham & Emma Chowings
DTLuke Fox & Matthew Layer
EnglishHolli Hagues, Janie Olver & Chris Smith
GeographySam Blake & Nicole Higgins
HistoryThomas Oatey & Lewis Virgo
ICTCara Beveridge, Georgia Gillespie & Nicole Higgins
MathsRobert Hambly, Leah Parsons & Lucy Pike
MusicImogen Bryce
MFLClara Oldfield & Janie Olver
PDJak Liddington, Winnie Mulvanny & Paul Olchowy
PEJak Liddington & Bethany Wilson
RERobert Barrett, Amelia Indans & Ryan Minty
ScienceNicole Higgins, Liam Pollard, Alex Tucker

The school would like to thank Spinnaker International Ltd, Tamar Valley Meats, Florabella Ltd and the Friends of saltash.net community school for their sponsorship and support of the event.