Safeguarding update letter April 2020

Dear Parent/Carer

Coronavirus – COVID-19 – Safeguarding and General Advice for Parents/Carers

  1. Safeguarding

We have reviewed and adapted our safeguarding and child protection arrangements and procedures to reflect the new, interim operating environment – details can be found here.

As the majority of students are being educated at home and those that do attend school are subject to an unfamiliar routine, often without their regular pastoral staff, we would like to make you and your child aware of who to contact in school, if there is a concern:

The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) (and lead for allegations or concerns about members of staff or adults) is:

Kate Littledyke (Headteacher): klittledyke@saltashcloud.net

The Senior Deputy DSLs are:

Danielle Pearce: dpearce@saltashcloud.net

Sarah Moss: smoss@saltashcloud.net

The Deputy DSLs are:

Jen Childs (SENDCo): jchilds@saltashcloud.net

Emma Childs (Sixth Form): echilds@saltashcloud.net

Mike Allen: mallen@saltashcloud.net

Linda Griffin (Deputy Head): lgriffin@saltashcloud.net

Helen Hodson (ARB): hhodson@saltashcloud.net

Additionally, anyone can make a referral to social services:

MARU | 0300 123 1116 | multiagencyreferralunit@cornwall.gov.uk

(outside office hours 01208 251300)  or Plymouth Gateway gateway@plymouth.gov.uk Telephone number 01752 668000

If someone is at immediate risk of harm, then call the police (999).

Online incidents or abuse can be reported via Childline, UK Safer Internet Centre and CEOP.

  1. Staying safe online

We have arranged for your child to learn from home via Show My Homework, which means they are likely to be online more regularly than usual.  All of our content and sites that we direct students to are educational and age appropriate.  However, it is possible for students to stray from the set work while online, so help and advice on how to keep them safe online is available to you via:

Internet matters – support for parents and carers to keep their children safe online

London Grid for Learning – support for parents and carers to keep their children safe online

Net-aware – support for parents and careers from the NSPCC

Parent info – support for parents and carers to keep their children safe online

ThinkuKnow – advice from the National Crime Agency to stay safe online

UK Safer Internet Centre – advice for parents and carers

  1. Being aware of the signs and indicators of abuse

Our staff are trained in identifying the signs and indicators of abuse, at induction and regularly thereafter.  As the majority of children are now in the community and not attending school, we felt it relevant to inform all parents/carers of the signs and indicators, in order to raise awareness in our community.  Our safeguarding policy lists the forms of abuse and the associated signs and indicators (Page 16-17) as well as specific issues, such as  peer-on-peer abuse (Page 17-24).

  1. Further information

The Department for Education has published general information for parents/carers about how education operates in the current environment, including access to placements for vulnerable children and children of critical workers and things to consider when contemplating leaving a child unattended:

DfE guidance for parents/carers

DfE guidance for schools

  1. Please stay safe and follow the government guidance on social distancing and essential journeys.

Our site remains closed to the public so that we can focus on providing placements to those eligible students, although we very much look forward to returning to our role as a community resource.  Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact Main Reception, which continues to be staffed daily.

With best wishes,

Kate Littledyke

Headteacher

 

Safeguarding annex covid 19 April 2020